I often get flak from people being a seminary student.  People are concerned that I might lose my faith while at school while others are concerned that I might become a fundamentalist.  Fuller Seminary is too liberal for some and too conservative for others!  As for me, I view it as being just right.

I enjoy the ecumenical dialogue that I encounter at school, talking about matters of our common Christian faith with Lutherans, Presbyterians, Anglicans and other Protestant denominations.  For the most part, I have found that my faith has deepened dramatically as I begin to understand the beautiful depth of Christianity.  Of course it is a very simple faith, anybody can become a follower of Christ.  However, it is often the depth within discipleship that will be the pivotal deal breaker.  As Dietrich Bonhoeffer once astutely observed, “When Christ calls a man, He bids him come and die.”  This is a hard saying of Christ, something that can be a deal breaker.  I think that this is why some people would rather hide in the arrogance of the “Ivory Tower” and not fully become a disciple of Christ with incredible depth.  Of course others might want to hide in being an uneducated Christian, not wanting to wade into the depths of our faith, preferring to stay in the shallow end of Christianity.  I say to both sides, come and revel in the joys of being a disciple and take Christ at His word!  As John Calvin would encourage, cultivate a knowledge of the heart where our faith can be robust and authentic.  Let us drink in deeply our Christian heritage and learn to sit at the feet of Jesus.

