What is Lent?  Why do we even celebrate this, placing ash on our forehead and fasting from specific things?  I do think there are some benefits for this sacred period of time, namely reflection upon the most glorious event in human history- God dying for us.  For this period of Lent, I will use the lyrics to the incredible hymn My Eternal King as a backdrop for reflection upon Christ’s death.  I will take each paragraph and explore the meaning, inviting your thoughts of course.

As a preface, we should participate in Lent not out of superstition or thoughtless ritual.  Lent ought to be a time of contemplative thought upon Christ and His salvific mercy.  How he bore the sin of the world.  How He bore disgrace for me.  For us.

_______________________

My God, I love You;
Not because I hope for heaven thereby,
Nor yet because who know You not
must die eternally.

O my Jesus,
You embraced me upon the cross.
For me did bear the nails, and spear;
and manifold disgrace;

Why, then why,
O blessed Jesus Christ,
Should I not love You well?
Not for the hope of winning heaven,
or of escaping hell;
Not with the hope of something gained,
Not seeking a reward;
But as You have loved me,
O ever loving Lord!

E’en so I love You, and will love,
and in Your praise will sing;
Solely because You are my God,
and my Eternal King.

________

Lyrics from My Eternal King by Jane Marshall

Video of this song can be found here.

